Basics of Entity Framework

Entity Framework is a set of technologies in ADO.NET that support the development of data-oriented software applications.

The following is the lists of Entity Framework versions.

1.  EF 3.5 - Basic O/RM support with Database First approach.

2. EF 4.0 - It supports POCO, Lazy loading, testability improvements, customizable code generation and the Model First approach.

3. EF 4.1 - It is available in NuGet, DBContext API is simple over ObjectContext, Code First approach.

4. EF 4.3 - This version includes Code First Migrations feature that allows a database created by Code First to be incrementally changed.

5. EF 5.0 - Introduced Enum support, table-valued functions, spatial data types, multiple-diagrams per model, coloring of shapes on the design surface and batch import of stored procedures, EF Power Tools and performance improvements.

6. EF 6.0 -  This version of Entity Framework includes many new features related to Code First & EF designer like asynchronous query & save, connection Resiliency, dependency resolution.

7. EF 7 - EF 7 is more powerful and has important changes over Entity Framework 6.x versions. Rowan Miller announced new release of Entity Framework 7 beta. Entity Framework 7 gives familiar developer experience to previous versions of EF, user can work with DbContext, DbSet, etc.
EF 7 is  lightweight than previous versions and is built from the ground up to work great in the cloud (using ASP.NET vNext)
on devices (i.e. in universal Windows apps) as well as in traditional .NET scenarios.

Documentation for EF7 



Praesent mattis

Pellentesque viverra vulputate enim. Aliquam erat volutpat. Pellentesque tristique ante ut risus. Quisque dictum. Integer nisl risus, sagittis convallis, rutrum id, elementum congue, nibh. Suspendisse dictum porta lectus. Donec placerat odio vel elit.

Read More